Church Street Fetish Fair – Pet Friendly

As you know if you’ve been following along, Mauro and I made it out to the Church Street Fetish Fair. Gotta say, it was, well, something to see. But everybody was having a gay ol’ time and at the end of the day that’s all that really matters, right? It was nice to see the event was pet friendly, even if your pet happens to walk on two limbs rather than the usual four, as you can plainly see in the photo above. I started off processing this in colour and really had something going on, too, but I kept going back to this. In the end, this photo won. It had a sort of surreal, dreamlike quality that I feel goes well with, um, pets. 😉 Hope you like it. Hold onto your hats this week because you’re gonna see some pretty freaky, photolitious stuff. We ain’t in Kansas anymore…

This entry was posted in Black & White Photography, Street Photography, Toronto, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Church Street Fetish Fair – Pet Friendly

  1. Emily Rose says:

    Wow! Haha… I’ve never been to such an event before! Very interesting capture! Can I ask how you processed this photo?

  2. Thanks. Well, it’s probably too long to describe, but one thing that seemed to have a big impact was dialling down the clarity to like -45 or so. Try it on one of your photos. It’s not for everything, of course, but with the right shot it can really add an interesting look. I also sharpened it a bit to make sure the mask was nice and sharp. I played with the split toning after converting to b & w, also.

    • Emily Rose says:

      Gotchya! Can’t wait to see the rest of the shots you got from this event!

      • They’ll be coming in drib and drabs over the next while. I’ve got sooo many photos to edit. LR3 runs very very slow on my old computer but I’ve got a new one in the works as we speak. I’m hoping to have it within the next week or so. That’ll speed things up. Take care. Hope you’re feeling better.

  3. I’ll put on my rose colored glasses this week, sit back, not judge and enjoy what you and Mauro come up with. However, my knees hurt just thinking what that ‘pet’ is doing all day.

  4. lynnwiles says:

    Cool shot, thank goodness the dog isn’t real.

  5. aswirly says:

    Um…that is one hard core mask. lol. What a strange fair. And it was public?

  6. Sean Kane says:

    I saw this image a couple days ago. It has stuck with me. Nice powerful shot that really made me pause to take it all in. Well done.

  7. Shallis says:

    Thanks for the picture. I appreciate the work you did in it’s composition and production. I dunno hide nor hair about photography but it’s fantastic. Sir thinks it’s great too. We both send our regards, you take some incredibly lovely shots, even the stuff I’ve seen from your work in flickr, too.

    You are very gifed with the lense!

  8. Pingback: 2010 in review « the lazy photographer

Lazy Likes Replies

