Red shade in barn

MarchDwtTwn2-25-EDITED

I snapped this one last weekend at Riverdale Farm, which is a large park with a farm and zoo in it, in downtown Toronto. I didn’t get out today, except for lunch with my ex-girlfriend. Spent the rest of the afternoon cleaning house. It always feels good when it’s finally finished. I’m sure y’all know what I’m talking about. Might get out tomorrow, not sure how I’ll feel. Have not been sleeping well for some time now.

This entry was posted in Black & White Photography, Street Photography, Toronto, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Red shade in barn

  1. I really like this pic. We are renovating an old buggy shed attached to our house and plan to take it back to it’s rustic origins–minus the horses and buggies. Reminds me of our recent work. This lamp adds such a cool splash of color and I love that it’s set off-center in the photo.

    • Thanks TW. That muggy shed sounds like quite the project. Good luck with that. As for the off-centred lamp, I was sort of following the rule of thirds.

      • tell me about the rule of thirds. I take pics because I love to, but have no idea what I’m doing. 🙂 I’ve learned a lot from you about movement in a photo and how it adds so much to the composition. Your pics tell stories more than about any I’ve seen.

        • Thank you TW. It’s rather simple, actually. Basically, you divide the imagine horizontally into three equal spaces, then do the same vertically. Then you compose the scene so that your subject lands close to where those lines cross. Makes for a more interesting image to the eye than if you just centre the subject. But centering the subject works from time to time, too. Here’s a really short article that best describes it, with pictures.

          http://learnprophotography.com/rule-of-thirds

  2. thanks for the explanation and the article. I’m going to try this with some of my Chincoteague pics. Will post and let you know.

    • My pleasure. I would suggest shooting a subject dead centre, then shooting another shot applying the rule of thirds. Then compare the two on your monitor to see which is more pleasing. Works best if you ask someone else’s opinion of the two shots.

  3. Inga says:

    This is just perfect! Love how the lamp stands out and the contrast with the wooden wall.

Lazy Likes Replies

