Yonge Bus

WoofStock2013-218-EDITED

I really can’t say what drove me to snap this shot. This big bus just appeared in front of me while I was waiting at the Yonge Dundas lights. I shot from the hip so I really didn’t know what I’d end up with, but I’m happy with the results. I’ve gotten pretty good at the hip shot. Takes a lot of practice to know where your camera is pointed without looking through a viewfinder or at an LCD screen. The main thing is to really learn from your failures. When I shoot over my head, blind, I tend not to aim the camera high enough. So nowadays when I’m shooting with the cameras way above my head I point the camera at an angle that seems like it’s too high, but the photo tends to be just what I was going for. Took some time for that to become second nature. Same with hip shots. In the beginning I’d end up with some really odd and somewhat unpleasant angle, but after all my practice I can shoot pretty straight, even when I’m not looking at the camera or my subject at all. I’ve even thought about taking people out for an afternoon and teaching them how to do it. It’s not that hard but it does take a lot of getting used to. And you have to be somewhat fearless. Anyway, hope you like the shot. One more sleep until my four day weekend. Yay!

This entry was posted in Street Photography, Toronto, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Lazy Likes Replies

