The decisive moment

BeachesTOPWalk-131-EDITED

Since I clearly ripped off Bresson’s work with this photo I figured I might as well rip off his catch phrase for the title. For those unfamiliar with the master of photography, check out this link. He’s one of the most important photographers of the last century and the guy who gave birth to street photography as an art form. Anyway, I snapped this yesterday during the rainy day photo walk. I mention Bresson because this shot replicated (poorly, I might add) one of his best known photos. The girl in the photo is Georgette. She was a good sport for splashing through that puddle for me. I snapped off about 15 shots at 7 per second to ensure I’d catch this. Bresson manage to get his shot with just one shutter click. I posted this to Flickr late last night and in less than 24 hours have gotten 2,170 hits for some reason. That’s huge for me. Not sure why. I suspect the photo was picked up and used someone in the media; just not sure where.

Hope you’re having a great weekend. At least it’s nice out today.

This entry was posted in Black & White Photography, Street Photography, Toronto, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The decisive moment

  1. a_wally says:

    Your twist on a classic but with the added bonus off your style, excellent!

Lazy Likes Replies

