George Steet Diner

WoofStock2013-331-EDITED

This dates back to last June. Boy this diner brings back memories. In another lifetime I used to work for Canada Trust. I’m talking mid-80s before I started my contracting business. I was in my mid-20s. Canada Trust had a warehouse across the street from this diner. The warehouse stocked all the forms CT used for their banking business. This was before the internet, keep in mind. Every single day at 10:00 AM I’d head over to the diner and get bacon and eggs with a double order of toast. Man, when you’re into eating like that every day it can be totally addictive. I weighed something like 214 pounds. I’d have that big breakfast and within an hour could hardly keep my eyes open. On top of it I lived with a girl who liked to cook. She fed me well. Nowadays it’s a treat to eat like that. Christmas day I’ll have a big breakfast but that’ll probably be it for this month. This diner won’t be open but I know a place in the beaches that will be.

So I went downtown today to Vistek Cameras to check out some of the new cameras. I looked at a Panasonic GX7, an Olympus EP5, a Fuji X-E2 and a Fuji X-Pro-1. I also played with Sony’s new full frame A7. Wow. But of all the cameras I played with I have to say the one I liked best is the Fuji X-Pro-1. It’s a fantastic camera but was problematic from the get-go. A handful of firmware updates by Fuji has fixed many of the issues, but with the X-Pro-2 rumoured to be announced in the first quarter of 2014, I think I’d best wait. So why a new camera? I’m looking for something smaller than my 5D Mrk III for day to day use. I’m attracted to the Fuji because it’s a very manual camera, with aperture, shutter and exposure comp all adjustable by way of dials on the camera body and lens. Very film camera like. The imagine quality is also said to be superb. Anyway, it’s a long way off. We’ll see what the future holds.

This entry was posted in Street Photography, Toronto, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Lazy Likes Replies

