Paint my nails, I said, and then one thing led to another…

CabbagetownFest-35-EDITED

I shot this back in September 2011 during the Cabbagetown Street fest. She looks real but she’s actually a mannequin. The lady in the background is the artist. I shot this with my Canon T2i and my Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 lens @ 17mm and f2.8. A wide aperture like that gives you a very shallow depth of field (aka a narrow focus area). That’s why the mannequin is in focus but the lady behind it is a tad out of focus. This is done purposely to make your subject pop from the background. To get everything in focus I would have had to narrow my aperture to something like F8 to F11. The higher the F stop the narrower the opening in the lens and the greater the depth of field. Off topic, it looks like I found a buyer for my old camera and the three lenses that I have for it. This will leave me with just the large Canon 5D Mrk III. I’m still trying to decide if I should keep it or sell it, too, and get something more appropriate for street photography. Another option is to keep the Canon and replace the 24-105 F4 zoom lens I’ve got with something faster (F2.8) and sharper, and then add a 16-35mm f2.8 to the mix. Of course all this costs money I don’t have, but it’s nice to dream.

This entry was posted in Portrait Photography, Street Photography, Toronto, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Paint my nails, I said, and then one thing led to another…

Lazy Likes Replies

