Playing with a portrait lens

BloorDanforth-103-EDITED

So I made it out with the group today, just for the afternoon portion of the walk. Man was it cold. Didn’t get many decent shots but I had fun with the old gang. When we stopped for dinner b=my buddy let me try out his Canon 100mm f2.8 portrait/macro lens on my camera and my other buddy stood in as my subject. The quality of the image is much better than I get from my 24-105 F4 zoom lens, but that’s no surprise. Prime lenses (lenses with a fixed focal length) tend to be far superior optically speaking. I have a 50mm f1.4 prime but I never take the thing out. I really need to use it more. It’s not as great for portraiture as this 100mm lens but it’s still pretty sweet. I took this shot wide open at f2.8 to check out the bokeh (out of focus background area). It’s very nice and soft and pleasing to the eye. Hope you like it.

This entry was posted in Portrait Photography, Street Photography, Toronto, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playing with a portrait lens

  1. Mike Pratt says:

    Very good close up portrait. The 100mm is a fantastic lens; having recently purchased one with the intention of taking plenty of macro photos. I actually use it more for portraits! Although I really dislike using anything over 50mm for street photography…I sometimes bring it a long for portraits. Are you going to be getting one?

    • I’m seriously considering it. I was going to buy the 135mm f/2 but it’s not a macro and I think having a macro ability in a portrait lens is money saved. I wouldn’t bother using it for street either. I’ve been looking at the 35mm f2 for that. Just not sure if I want the original or the new IS version. I’ve already got the 50mm f/1.4 but I don’t use it enough. Also, if I buy that Fuji I might end up moving over to the system and selling my Canon gear. I don’t know yet.

Lazy Likes Replies

