Photo bomb

UkraineProtest-621-EDITED

This is funny. So I’m setting up the shot knowing that this skate boarder’s about to ride through it. But he doesn’t realize he’s my subject and that I’m just waiting for him to enter the frame. As he skates (or rides or rolls, I don’t know, take your pick) through my shot he yells, “Photo bomb!” We both laughed and I gave him a thumbs up. I really wasn’t paying attention to my shutter speed and therefor wasn’t expecting him to be so blurred. I snapped this at 1/13th of a second, which is very slow, especially without a tripod. A shutter speed slower than 1/30th of a second risks blurriness due to camera movement. In this case I got lucky. The ISO was set to 1600, which for my camera isn’t very high. I could have increased it a stop to 3200, which would have doubled my shutter speed to 1/25th of a second. At that speed I can easily keep the camera steady. The faster shutter would have also resulted in a less blurry skater. At night I usually switch from aperture to shutter priority and set my shutter speed to 1/30th of a second, while leaving my ISO on auto with a ceiling locked at no higher than 6400. The camera takes control of aperture and ISO between 100-6400 and makes adjustments as necessary to achieve proper exposure. I find this is great for street photography where you just don’t have the time to play with manual settings. If the image I’m trying to capture is static (like a building or statue) then I might throw it into manual and take my time with it.

This entry was posted in Black & White Photography, Night Photography, Street Photography, Toronto, Urban Photography, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Lazy Likes Replies

