Low key portraiture

StudioShoot-38-EDITED

StudioShoot-83-EDITED

StudioShoot-63-EDITED

So I had a fun afternoon yesterday at the portraiture and lighting workshop. Learned a few new things. Can’t wait to get the gear to enable me to really hone my skills at this. I can’t really take credit for these shots, since the instructor sort of set up the lighting for us. We did get to play around with the location of the lights and also we posed our subjects. All in all, it was fun. I only wish there’d been a sexy model there for us to shoot. Oh well.

This entry was posted in Black & White Photography, Portrait Photography, Street Photography, Toronto, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Low key portraiture

  1. I love the first image. Interesting to know the settings

    • Thanks. It was shot in manual. The light meter was set to ISO 100 and 1/160th of a second, and from that determine we should shoot at f3.5. This was based on the flashes firing. A test shot without the flashes resulted in an almost pitch black image, even though the regular lights were on. In editing, I cranks the clarity until I got that punchy harsh lighting look you often see in Sports Illustrated portrait shoots. I also upped the contrast a bit. I also used the gradient tool to bring up the shadows on the left side so you’d still see some features. And that’s about it. Glad you like it.

Lazy Likes Replies

