Toronto at night

HeadShots-363-EDITED

I shot this Saturday evening downtown. That Toronto sign is a leftover from the summer Pan Am games, held here. It wasn’t supposed to be a permanent installation but it was so popular with the citizens that council decided to keep it. Not sure if it’ll be there forever, but at least it was there long enough for me to take this photograph. The thing is, this is one of the most photographed spots in the city this year, so I’ve been reluctant to bother. But since it was night and the reflection in the water was working for me, I figured what the hell. Usually I don’t waste too much time on scenes or subjects that everyone else has already photographed to death. What’s the point, I figure. There’s almost always a better image out there already. I shot it in shutter priority (my nighttime go-to setting) at 1/10th of a second and let the camera decide the rest. It immediately opened the lens wide to f4 and then upped the ISO to 200. All this was sans tripod, I should add. I did get a little lucky that the Canadian flag on the left was opened up. I didn’t even see it when I was shooting this, so I can’t take credit for the flag’s fortuitous position.

This entry was posted in Architecture Photography, art, Canada, City, Downtown, Night Photography, People, Street Photography, Toronto, Toronto City Hall, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Toronto at night

  1. Brian says:

    Nice shot. I like the composition and the colours

Lazy Likes Replies

