I want to build this church

HeadShots-245-EDITED

“I have this vision,” he said. He went on to explain how he was a recovering addict and wanted to build this church up north. He named the town but I can’t recall.

“It’s going to be a safe place for addicts to recover,” he told me. “They will be supported here and not judged.” His voice was small but sure. It was clear he’d put a lot of thought into this dream.

I knew the ask was coming but it didn’t matter, as I also knew I was going to give to him.

He proudly displayed his drawing and from his words you could tell it was much bigger than the simple sketch he held up.

With passion he talked about god and about His message. It wasn’t the first time he’d recited this speech, I could tell.

In the end it came down to the ask, a donation for the cause, the dream.

I gave him a couple of bucks and wished him all the best. I don’t think about the money, how he’ll spend it. It doesn’t matter. He shared his dream and to me that was worth something.

We all have dreams in life. Some come true.

Some don’t.

This entry was posted in art, Black & White Photography, Canada, City, Downtown, People, Portrait Photography, Street Photography, Toronto, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Lazy Likes Replies

