Leuty Lifeguard Station

BeachWinter-107-EDITED

This is the Leuty Lifeguard Station, located in the Toronto Beaches district. I’ve lived in this ‘hood all my life and remember this spot from as far back as I can remember. It also happens to be one of the top subjects in the city for photography. Because this is my ‘hood I don’t often go down here to take photos. It’s boring for me, since I know the entire area like the back of my hand. When I do “hit the beach” it’s usually for a long walk to clear my very cluttered mind. This past Sunday, however, our photo walks group had a walk in the beaches so I decided to go. I wasn’t planning to photograph this building, since it’s been done to death and there is simply no way to shoot anything even remotely original, but as usual I could not resist. I had a plan for this shot that I thought might actually make it somewhat original, or at least something I could really call my own. In post processing I exposed it for the sunny area in the sky and then began playing with the shadows in the clouds and such to make the shot moody and dark. I’m very pleased with the results, although I know it won’t be to everyone’s taste. Anyway, hope you like it.

 

This entry was posted in art, Beach Photography, Black & White Photography, Canada, City, Downtown, light & shadow, People, Sky & Clouds, street, Street Photography, Sunny, Toronto, urban, Urban Photography, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Leuty Lifeguard Station

  1. Frances says:

    I love it – you always find something different!

Lazy Likes Replies

