Composition challenge

WideSaturday-54-EDITED-2

This was a funny moment for me. I shot this inside the doors of the Eaton Centre, at the north end, which is closed off. The people in the shot were too busy with their phones to even notice me. I had on my wide angle 16-35mm f4 Canon lens. So I used this odd opportunity to practice my composition. I’d take a shot, then look at it. I’d move a few feet one way and repeat. Then a few feet in another direction, and so on. Other than the floor sweeper and the guy on the far right, no one was moving but me. I kept at it for maybe 25 to 40 seconds, taking shot after shot and analysing the results until I finally got something I found pleasing to the eye.

With shots like this, I like to look at them at thumbnail size, so I no longer see people but instead just see the shapes against the white space. It’s a good exercise in composition because you end up with a half dozen of the same shot, but each slightly different. You can then really consider each and why one works while another does not. In the end it was this one I preferred. Anyway, hope you like it.

This entry was posted in art, Black & White Photography, Canada, City, Downtown, People, street, Street Photography, Toronto, urban, Urban Photography, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Lazy Likes Replies

