Walk the line

NisargModel-34-EDITED

I snapped this on the weekend. It’s a little blurry but in fairness I was walking and shooting and I had no idea that the shadows were going to work out so sweet for me. I was focused more on his blue suit and hat. I totally thought this was going to be a colour photo. Only after seeing it in Lightroom did I see it a whole other way.

When I’d started out on my walkabout Sunday I’d set me ISO to auto with a range of 100 to 400, allowing the camera to select the ISO based on the exposure. I was also shooting at f8, my go-to street aperture. The camera selected ISO 100 and 1/80th of a second shutter for this shot. Had I upped my ISO to 200 (one stop) and dropped my aperture to f5.6 (one stop), the camera would have double my shutter speed and then doubled it again. So 1/80th would have become 1/320th. At 1/320th this photo would have likely been sharp enough that you wouldn’t have known it was shot from the hip while I was walking.

So why didn’t I just change my settings on the fly? Well, in that few seconds it would have taken me, I would have missed this shot entirely. And I’d rather have this slightly blurred shot than no shot at all. I might even include this one in the book. Anyway, hope you like it.

This entry was posted in art, Black & White Photography, Canada, City, Downtown, light & shadow, People, street, Street Photography, Toronto, urban, Urban Photography, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walk the line

  1. a_wally says:

    I like this shot, it feels street and I can’t help but think that it would work less if it was tack sharp. Great image!

Lazy Likes Replies

