What?

50mmPrimeDay-73-EDITED

This family was sitting behind me at the 3 Brewers restaurant on Yonge and the little baby kept looking over at me. So I grabbed the camera and snapped the photo. I gave the mother my card and invited her to email me for a free copy of the shot. This was shot with my 50mm at f1.4, wide open. I was focused directly on her eye and I can see that it’s not overly sharp. The lens doesn’t really sharpen up until around f4, which is a bit of a shame. Even f2.8 is much better than wide open. The thing is, I can buy a Tamron 24-70 f3.8 that’s image stabilized and supper sharp and it would replace this 50 easily. Perhaps at night I might miss the f1.4, but certainly not during the daytime walkabouts. And of course I’d have that handy zoom range. Anyway, I thought it was a cute photo.

I got out last night for more night photography, but this time with my 16-35 f4 IS L glass. Shame it isn’t wider but I still enjoyed it. Tamron makes a 15-30 f2.8 that’s image stabilized and I almost bought that instead of my Canon, but after reading the reviews I felt the Canon was a slightly better choice. I don’t do much night photography anyway.

Enjoy your weekend.

This entry was posted in art, Canada, City, Downtown, People, street, Street Photography, Toronto, urban, Urban Photography, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What?

  1. Rick Carter says:

    Hi Not sure why I can’t use my WP signature but it is what it is. Love the shot … My primary focus all these many years have been family and then any child … Indeed they are precious. Otherwise, I love scenes from sunrises to sunsets and more! There isn’t generally a bad shot unless it doesn’t come out. Love this one and thanks! Rick =)

  2. Ludo says:

    You always read reviews where people say such lens is so sharp then you buy it and you wonder what people can see that you can’t! I think in 2016 cameras and lenses are still a little disappointing. And we are fed into wanting sharper, wider or else. Maybe we need to learn to be happy with what we have. And I struggle a lot with that 😉

Lazy Likes Replies

