It’s like a castle mommy

KingWest-214-EDITED

I took this photo on a warm Saturday afternoon in February, the 20th, actually. Typically Toronto is covered in snow and ice and it’s barely fit for polar bears, but not this Saturday. I don’t recall the temperature precisely, only that it was a pleasant day, more like late fall than mid winter. I stopped and sat on this bench and that little girl beside me kept saying to her Mom, “It’s like a castle, mommy.” She was pointing to Roy Thompson Hall behind us, in the theatre district. It was sooo cute. And she kept looking at me and sort of shyly smiling. I sat the camera on my lap facing them but then made like I was trying to fix something on it. Actually, I was snapping shots of the scene. I got very lucky in that I caught her pointing at the Hall as she again mentioned how it looked like a castle. Of course her mom readily agreed, as would any parent in that situation. It is perhaps my favourite photo of that day, simply because of the fond memory of the moment.

This entry was posted in art, Black & White Photography, Canada, City, Downtown, People, street, Street Photography, Toronto, urban, Urban Photography, Winter Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Lazy Likes Replies

