By The Bay

EasterWkEnd-51-EDITED

Based on the title I’m guessing a few of you were expecting water and perhaps a dock, yes? 😉 This is The Bay (aka The Hudson’s Bay) department store. Decades ago it was Simpson’s before a bunch of mergers and buy-outs, etc. It’s located right in the heart of downtown Toronto, at Yonge & Queen. At least it was the heart of the city back in the day. I suppose Dundas Square has taken that top spot now.

I shot this with my 16-35 f4 L glass lens @ 16mm. That’s about the only way you can get the entire building in the shot. Gotta go wide. I got lucky with the sun just slipping behind the rooftop so I strategically placed myself in a spot where I’d pick up the sun burst. I also stopped the aperture down to f22, which is how you get those lovely sun stars.

It’s funny, I just watched this short doc about a famous photographer. He had some interesting points about photography, specifically street or candid photography. He said photography all comes down to two things: knowing where to stand and knowing when to push the shutter release. So simple, yet so true. And it applies to any camera one owns, from a $35 disposable drug store film camera to a $35,000 Hasselblad. All the camera in the world isn’t going to save you if you don’t have the “right time, right place” down.

Oh, some news for you. I’m working on a Facebook page for The Lazy Photographer. It will feature my photography, of course, but also tutorials from other sites, short documentaries about famous photographers, gear news and reviews, and even photos from other photographers whose work I like and respect. I let you know when I make it live. Hope you follow along.

Anyway, have a great weekend. Hope you like the shot.

This entry was posted in Abandoned Buildings, Architecture Photography, art, Canada, City, Downtown, People, Sky & Clouds, street, Street Photography, Sunny, Toronto, urban, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to By The Bay

  1. Hi Dave – Equally great would be your own website … perhaps more beneficial in the long run? You have control then …. too many friends and acquaintances got great feed for awhile even with ads then it all disappeared … check it out and if I can provide more evidence I would be pleased to do so! God Bless

Lazy Likes Replies

