Orange with 9 windows

KingWest-264-EDITED

There’s a lesson hidden in this shot. I always do my best to compose the shot in camera, and that’s not a bad rule to follow. The less you have to crop, the better you get at composing. However, it never hurts to take a “just in case” shot. What I mean is, zoom out (wider) to include the surrounding area of your composition so you have one image where, if necessary, you can crop it into something appealing during post processing. In this case I did not do that. The idea I had in the field did not include a square format with nine windows in it. I only “saw” that shot when I looked at the photo in Lightroom. Problem is, when I saw the shot I also realized I hadn’t taken a shot wide enough to accommodate such a crop. The result? The windows at the top right are cut off. It’s not the end of the world, but it is a tad disappointing. And even if I returned, what’s the chances that the one window will have the curtains tied up like that again? Slim to none.

This entry was posted in art, Canada, City, Downtown, People, street, Street Photography, Sunny, Toronto, urban, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Orange with 9 windows

  1. Pingback: Orange with 9 windows — the lazy photographer | O LADO ESCURO DA LUA

  2. Sallyann says:

    I like it, just the way it is…
    I’m a big fan of orange, and of windows so the picture got me straight away.
    Putting your disappointment aside though, a better angle or a wider crop may have made for a perfect picture, but the world is far from perfect and I love the way the picture feels real, especially, as you say, with the one window having it’s curtain tied up like that.
    Thanks for the smile. 🙂

Lazy Likes Replies

