Toronto Toronto

geoffdwntwn2016-121-edited

I got out for my first walkabout downtown with my new Fujifilm X Pro 2. Being not that used to shooting primes, I had a hard time with it and didn’t get many shots with which I was really pleased, but that’s my fault entirely, not the camera. In time once I get used to the focal lengths (23mm & 14mm – full frame that would be 35mm & 21mm), I’m sure I’ll have better results. I did, however, get a few I liked, like this one.

I shot this with the 14mm @ f5.6. I let the camera decide on the ISO and shutter. For some reason it selected 1/1000th of a second and ISO 400. I have the auto ISO parameters set to 200-6400 with a min. shutter of 1/320th for street. There’s no reason the camera couldn’t have met those parameters by cutting the ISO one stop to 200 and dropping the shutter a stop to 1/500th. I probably should have simply flipped the ISO from auto to 200 and only allowed the camera to play with the shutter speed. Oh well, live and learn.

So far I love the camera, but that’s not news, since I did have a loaner for three days on two occasions last spring. I do have a couple of things I’m not all that keen on, but that’s no different from any other camera, I suppose. There’s no such thing as perfect, right?

This entry was posted in art, Autumn, Camera News, Canada, City, Downtown, People, Reflections, Sky & Clouds, street, Street Photography, Toronto, Toronto City Hall, urban, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Toronto Toronto

  1. Freeadmission Photography says:

    Hi Dave Glad to see you got your FUJI on, I’m curious as to why the focal lengths change on a full frame. I always thought they stayed the same because the crop factor is removed. Was really curious when you were mentioning getting used to shooting with primes. I love it, personally and shoot with them more than any other lens. Once you find the focus sweet spot your set! Love this shot. CheersDeanna http://www.flickr.com/photos/freeadmission/

    • Hi Deanna,
      Firstly, thank you. Glad you like the shot.
      As for my comment about prime lenses, it’s simply that I’m used to the flexibility of zooms. I do have a 50mm 1.4 for my Canon but it’s a bad focal length for my taste so I rarely take it out. With using a prime, I have to adjust my way of viewing the world in that I have to stop visualizing shots I can’t get with a prime. It doesn’t take long, mind you. It only took two outings back in June when I had the X Pro 2 and a prime before I stopped focusing on things I can’t get and only focused on the things within that focal length. I’m not worried about it, I know I’ll get used to it in no time. One thing I do need to relearn is how to shoot from the hip with a 23mm (35mm eq.) lens. I’m used to shooting from the hip at 24mm on my full frame. Right now I am finding that I snap a shot only to discover I was like 6 feet too close. But again, I’ll figure that out in no time. The upside of using a prime, I find, is you aren’t scanning everything around you all the time looking for a shot. It’s almost freeing in a way. You stick to what you can see at 23mm and that’s it. I kinda like that.
      As for your question about focal lengths on a crop sensor vs a full frame, it’s all about the sensor size. Rather than get into a lengthy explanation and undoubtedly effing it up, here’s a short video that explains it much better than I ever could.
      Thanks for checking out my blog and have a great day.
      PS. Nice shots on your flickr stream.

      http://petapixel.com/2014/03/28/concise-explanation-crop-factor-affects-focal-length-aperture/

  2. Hi didn’t get the photo .. going for open heart surgery tomorrow so no rush Rick

Lazy Likes Replies

