Cheers, Mate

A while back I went on a night walk through Kensington Market with my photography buddies. At one point I stopped to talk to this odd looking young woman carrying a balloon. I wanted to take her photo but she refused. She then asked if I wanted to see something cool, like to take a photo of it. Sure, I said, and off we went. Well, this woman was seriously a tad off her rocker. She was cute, though, which makes up for a lot. We walked through the dark Kensington streets, just her and I, seeing all sorts of strange and disturbing sites along the way — mostly drunks. At one point we see the couple above kissing. Oooh, take a picture of that, she says. They stopped kissing and the guy says, Yeah, take our photo. He raises his beer just as a police cruiser rounds the corner and I realize this is going to be a great shot, him drinking in the street only a few short yards away from the police. From there we walked on until we ended up in some back alley. I wondered if I was going to get away with my life. She ended up showing me some old horse buggy that was hardly worth my time. She thought it was the greatest thing since sliced bread. Me, I’d rather photograph sliced bread. I took a photo of it to keep her happy and then we walked back. By then my friends were all worried about me, since I’d been gone about a half hour. Kensington after dark isn’t the safest neighbourhood. That buggy photo will never see the light of day, but thanks to my kooky friend’s little adventure that night, I got this one and a few others I like. Hope you like it too.

This entry was posted in Black & White Photography, Night Photography, Street Photography, Toronto, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cheers, Mate

  1. the wuc says:

    Wucca wucca wucca.

Lazy Likes Replies