Old man and the hydrant

I first ran into this old guy at Nathan Phillips Square (Toronto City Hall) and he ended up sort of going where I was going, but walking on the opposite side of the street. I took quite a few photos of him. He was definitely on the odd side. Then again, people probably think the same of me when they see me out and about. 😉 I took this photo on Queen Street out front of the Eaton Centre. The old man was walking along the opposite side of Queen, next to The Bay department store. On an unrelated topic, boy I had the worse nightmare last night about the job I’m waiting to here back on. It’s a long and convoluted story that makes little sense, so I won’t get into it, except to say it was one of the most anxiety inducing dreams I’ve had in a while. I’m still recovering. Oh, and today’s my Dad’s birthday, by the way. Yay Dad! 🙂

This entry was posted in Street Photography, Toronto, Urban Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Old man and the hydrant

  1. milkayphoto says:

    Your eye for stuff like this is incredible. You have such a connection to the plight of others and you capture it so well.

  2. I see this and I get the urge to crop (see flickr page). 🙂

    Love the mood his posture conveys. The splash of color from the hydrant helps to really pop the scene.

    • Thanks Scott. Yeah, I saw your suggested crop and while I do like it I still think how I have it works best for my eye. I wanted the guy to have lots of empty space around him to give a sense of isolation and loneliness, and all that grayish wall helps the hydrant pop more. That’s also why I didn’t convert to b & w.

      • I just added the flickr widget to the bottom of my blog (see footer area below). You can access it from there. I just started with flickr a short time ago. I’m adding photos every day or so. Sometimes I add photos there before they hit this blog. If you have a flickr account, let’s link up by way of contacts or however it’s done. 🙂

      • milkayphoto says:

        I have a Flickr account but I found posting their aggravating as I wanted things to be in the same order as the blog and it just wouldn’t do it. (I even created galleries for each month and everything and Flickr just does what Flickr does so I gave up).

        At first, I was just like Scott and thought a crop would be best. But, the more I looked at it, I decided I like the original. I think it is bold and conveys what you were hoping.

  3. Thanks Tracy. I’ll tell him tomorrow evening when I take him out for his b-day dinner.

  4. Yeah, Flickr is like a box of chocolates… 😉

    Thanks. Scott’s new so we have to forgive him. 🙂 (just teasing, Scott)

  5. Mauro Metallo says:

    I said on flick that this shot was refreshing, meaning that it stroke note of originality among all photos I have been viewing lately.
    I confirm it here, and express my opinion against cropping: I like it just the way it is…
    Please, give all my best to your old man.

  6. lynnwiles says:

    I didn’t know that you had gone flickr – busy lazy Dave. I like this shot a lot and would not crop it one bit. I like the way the shape and color of that man’s hat mimics the top of the hydrant and how both look so small against the wall. Are you liking flickr better than redbubble?

    • Thanks Lynn. I find redbubble just too slow and cumbersome to use, frankly. With flickr you can upload a number of photos at once. At some point I’m going to get a smugmug pro account or a personal photography website.

Lazy Likes Replies